Equality and inclusion

Committee Members

The School of Healthcare established the Athena SWAN Working Group (ASWG) in 2010 to champion not only the advancement of women`s careers in the School, but promote work-life balance.  The ASWG is a sub-group of the School’s Equality and Inclusivity (E&I) Committee, in addition, the ASWG is also the Self-Assessment Team (SAT) for the School.



Abdul Kapdi

Operations Manager

Angela O’Keefe

School Business Manager 

Anne-Maree Keenan

Professor of Applied Health Science

Georgina Daly

SES Officer 

Janet Hirst

Deputy Head of School & Associate Professor in Maternal care. Newly appointed Head of School from 1/1/18

Joanne Lay

Associate Director of Student Education Quality

Judith Bell

Faculty Human Resources Manager

Kevin Bowser

Undergraduate Student Nurse

Netalie Shloim


Nicola Sherbourne-Wilson

Senior Secretary to the Professoriate and Academic Unit Directors

Peter Tennant

University Academic Fellow in Healthcare Research

Philip Esterhuizen

Lecturer/Associate Director of Student Education – Curriculum and Assessment

Sue Kilminster

Principal Research Fellow and Faculty Lead for Health Professions Education Research

Suzanne Banks

Research Manager for School of Healthcare

Tim Knighton

Business and Facilities Co-ordinator

Tomasina Stacey

Lecturer in Maternal Care

If you would like to join the ASWG, please email Anne-Maree Keenan