Equality and inclusion

Athena SWAN in the School of Psychology

The Athena SWAN Charter recognises work undertaken to address gender equality in relation to academic roles, professional and support staff, and trans staff and students. Athena SWAN initiatives include representation, progression of students into academia, journey through career milestones, and working environment for all staff.

The School of Psychology Athena SWAN steering group

This work is being led by Professor Anna Madill who is the Athena SWAN Champion in the School of Psychology.  The Athena SWAN steering group oversees the self-assessment and action plan. 


Role in School

Amanda Harrison

Director of Student Education

Anna Madill

Chair ASWG, Deputy Head

Catherine Gibbons

Contract Research Staff Champion

Clare Lawton

Programme Manager Taught Postgraduate

Daryl O’Connor

Professorial Academic Lead Representative

Helen Coop

Faculty E&I Project Officer

Jacky Hunt

School Business Manager, Senior Mgt Team

Jelena Havelka

Postgraduate Research Tutor

Joyti Panesar

Postgraduate Researcher Representative

Judith Bell

Faculty Human Resources Manager

Kyle Griffith

Equality and Inclusion Advisor 

Liam Hill

Widening Participation Tutor

Louise Walton

Professional and Support Staff Representative

Maddy Steeds

Student Union Diversity Rep/SoP TPG

Jason Halford

Head of School

Richard Harris

Chair of Special Cases Committee; Disability Tutor