Discovery and Translational Science Department

What we do

DTSD makes transformational changes in our understanding of cardiovascular diseases through high-calibre fundamental and translational studies. Our research integrates our field-leading expertise in ion channels, endothelial biology, thrombosis, inflammation, metabolism and early development.

Our research is supported by UK Research and Innovation, the National Institute for Health Research and major research charities including the Wellcome Trust, Diabetes UK, Heart Research UK and the British Heart Foundation. We have active collaborations locally and internationally. Our vibrant and successful research community is home to Programme Awards, Named Chairs,  Fellowships and the Cardiovascular theme of the NIHR Leeds Biomedical Research Centre. Our research integrates molecular and structural biology, physiology, chemistry, physics and data science to address the key challenges in cardiometabolic disease and deliver new diagnostic and therapeutic opportunities that will change patients' lives.

Our research-intensive environment allows DTSD to deliver the highest quality teaching in cardiometabolic science for undergraduate and post-graduate programmes. We provide a varied research programme for our students, including a BHF Doctoral Training Programme, International PhD Academy, and our flagship MSc in Cardiovascular Health and Disease to create a thriving training environment for the development of the next generation of scientists.

By delivering ground-breaking, innovative and transformational teaching and research, we aim to shift paradigms in our understanding of diabetes and cardiometabolic and vascular disease.

Who we are


Department Head

Professor Lee Roberts – Professor of Molecular Physiology and Metabolism

Deputy Head of Department for Research

Dr Robin Bon - Associate Professor of Chemical Biology


Professor Robert Ariëns - Professor of Vascular Biology 

Professor David Beech - Professor of Cardiovascular Science 

Professor Niamh Forde - Professor of Molecular Reproductive Biosciences

Professor Mark Kearney - BHF Professor of Cardiovascular & Diabetes Research, Executive Dean, Faculty of Medicine and Health

Professor Ann Morgan – Professor of Rheumatology

Professor Khalid Naseem – Professor of Cardiovascular Biology and LICAMM Director

Professor Helen Philippou - Professor of Translational Vascular Medicine

Professor Helen Picton - Professor of Reproduction & Early Development

Professor Sikha Saha - Professor of Cardiovascular & Cerebrovascular Medicine

Professor Stephen Wheatcroft - Professor of Cardiometabolic Medicine

Dr Marc Bailey - BHF Intermediate Clinical Fellow & Associate Professor of Vascular Medicine

Dr Richard Cubbon - Associate Professor

Dr Cedric Duval – BHF Intermediate Fellow & Lecturer

Dr Karen Forbes -  Associate Professor

Dr Antreas Kalli – Associate Professor 

Dr Fraser Macrae – Wellcome Trust Early Career Fellow & University Academic Fellow

Dr Azhar Maqbool - Lecturer in Cardiovascular Medicine

Dr Lynn McKeown - Associate Professor in Vascular Cell Biology

Dr Paul Meakin - BHF Intermediate Fellow & Associate Professor

Dr Lara Morley – NIHR Academic Clinical Lecturer

Dr Charlie Scarff – BHF Intermediate Fellow and University Academic Fellow

Dr Jian Shi - BHF Intermediate Fellow & Associate Professor

Dr Nadira Yuldasheva - Associate Professor

Mautner fellows:

Dr Marjolaine Debant

Dr Eulashini Chuntharpursat-Bon

Dr Fiona Bartoli

Dr Chew Cheng

Dr Nathalie North

Dr Julia Sandrin Gauer

Other fellowship holders:

Dr Timea Feller – Wellcome Trust Early Career Fellow

Dr Amanda MacCannell – BHF Research Fellow