Faculty of Medicine and Health equality and inclusion

Equality and Inclusion

The Faculty is committed to creating an inclusive working environment for all our staff and students.

The Faculty Equality and Inclusion committee meets termly and is chaired by the Executive Dean of the Faculty, Professor Mark Kearney.  The faculty committee works closely with the University Equality Policy Unit to promote the University Equality Objectives:

  • Develop a university-wide culture which promotes equality and inclusion
  • Integrate and embed equality into all aspects of university business
  • Attract, retain, support and develop an excellent workforce from across the world
  • Ensure a world-class student experience through inclusion and academic excellence

The faculty actively works to foster equality and inclusion through activities such as:

  • Regular consultation with staff and students, for example staff culture survey, student surveys, questionnaires and focus groups
  • Analysis of staff and student data to identify areas of challenge and potential equality
  • Promoting the University Equality and Inclusion training for all staff and providing additional training such as Mental Health Awareness and Unconscious Bias
  • Disseminating advice and guidance from the University Equality Policy Unit
  • Developing policies and guidance to support inclusion and diversity, e.g. flexible working policies, promotions guidance and benchmarks
  • Collaborating with partner organisations eg working with Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Supporting University Networks and events e.g. LGBT STEM, International Women’s Day, Leeds Female Leaders Network

Each School has its own Equality and Inclusion / Athena SWAN Self Assessment team who meet on a regular basis. Our colleagues involved in this are all committed to improving the working culture and career development opportunities across the Faculty and wider University. 

Athena SWAN

Recognising advancement of gender equality: representation, progression and success for all.

The Athena SWAN Charter was established in 2005 to encourage and recognise commitment to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) employment in higher education and research. The charter now recognises work undertaken to address gender equality more broadly, and not just barriers to progression that affect women.

The Faculty of Medicine and Health is proud that each of the four schools holds an Athena SWAN award. For more information about Athena SWAN in the Faculty of Medicine, please visit our individual School pages which are available here:

School of Dentistry

School of Healthcare

School of Medicine

School of Psychology