Medicine MRes Research Projects

What’s available at Leeds?

Medical research plays an enormous role in improving patient care and outcomes. Through our course, you’ll develop your specialist skills and knowledge while also gaining the experience to feel equipped for a career in the field.

At Leeds, our MRes Medicine is an exciting and challenging course designed for those who want to advance their research skills and be immersed in a research project. 

Your nine-month project will help you to develop specialised knowledge, as well as design and undertake a substantial piece of publishable research. While studying with us, you’ll be based in one of our internationally-renowned institutes and be supervised by leading experts in their field. To help you specialise based on your interests, you can choose from a range of research opportunities from applied health, cancer and pathology, cardiovascular, genes and development, medical education and musculoskeletal topics. What’s more, it can be possible for our students to self-design a project if there is a University of Leeds researcher that they are particularly keen to collaborate with while at Leeds.

Here’s a view of the projects currently available at Leeds. Please note that this page will continue to be updated while more projects become available.

 

Dr Katie Simmons

K.J.Simmons@leeds.ac.uk

The development of modulators of IR-IGF1R hybrids as a potential treatment for Type 2 Diabetes

LICAMM

Dr Lee Roberts

L.D.Roberts@leeds.ac.uk

The impact of type 2 diabetes on cardiac metabolic phenotype in patients with severe aortic stenosis 

Dr Rebecca Spencer

R.N.Spencer@leeds.ac.uk

Assessing inter- and intra-rater reliability of a novel adverse event grading system for clinical trials in pregnancy

LICAMM and LTHT

Extracellular vesicles (EVs) as biomarkers of outcome in pregnancies complicated by early-onset fetal growth restriction (FGR)

Predicting outcome in pregnancies where the fetus is small-for-gestational age

Investigating the role of proteins associated with the development of abnormal umbilical artery Dopplers in early-onset fetal growth restriction on placental development and function

Professor Daniel Peckham

D.G.Peckham@leeds.ac.uk

Are CFTR modulator therapies effective at reducing inflammation in patients with rare CFTR mutations?

LIMR

Dr Salvatore Papa

S.Papa@leeds.ac.uk

The regulation of metabolism on drug response in cancer

LIMR

Dr Niamh Forde

N.Forde@leeds.ac.uk

Understanding the role of non-coding RNAs in implantation failure

LICAMM

Understanding the contribution of obesity associated metabolic stressors to implantation failure in humans

Optimising 3D approaches to generate in vitro models to understand pregnancy loss

Dr S Saha

S.Saha@leeds.ac.uk

Diagnostic and Prognostic markers of stroke outcomes

Leeds

Zhan Ong

Z.Y.Ong@leeds.ac.uk

Development of novel membrane active peptide therapeutics to combat antimicrobial resistance

EC Stoner (Molecular and Nanoscale Physics)

Dr Ana Tiganescu

A.Tiganescu@leeds.ac.uk

Investigating the interplay between 11β-HSD1, hypoxia and wound healing in db/db mice

LICAMM

Regulation of the human skin microbiome by  11β-HSD1

Hull York Medical School

Dr James Poulter

J.A.Poulter@leeds.ac.uk

Dissecting the role of the mTOR signalling pathway in polycystic kidney organoid models

LIMR

Dr Manoj Sivan

 

M.Sivan@leeds.ac.uk

 

Home-based pain management using Brain Neuromodulation Intervention Technology (BNIT)

LIRMM & LTHT

Understanding the connection between Long COVID and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome

Dr Christine Diggle

C.P.Diggle@leeds.ac.uk

Investigation into the control of SLCO2A1 expression in colon cancer

LIMR

Dr Fiona Errington-Mais

F.Errington@leeds.ac.uk

Does rhythmic glucocorticoid release effect the clinical efficacy of oncolytic virus therapy?

Dr Milene Volpato

M.Volpato@leeds.ac.uk

CpG island methylation regulates the expression of genes involved in colorectal cancer cell response to EPA

Dr Laura Matthews

l.c.matthews@leeds.ac.uk

Investigating the effects of anti-inflammatory steroids on existing and emerging treatments for aggressive brain cancer

Dr Thomas Pike

T.Pike@leeds.ac.uk

Association between pancreatitis and inflammatory bowel disease

Dr Georgia Mavria

G.Mavria@leeds.ac.uk

Molecular mechanisms blood vessel abnormality in brain tumours and their contribution to therapeutic resistance.

Dr Manir Ali

M.Ali@leeds.ac.uk

Genetic analysis of the non-inflammatory eye condition, keratoconus, in families using next-generation sequencing

Dr Liz Valleley

e.m.a.valleley@leeds.ac.uk

Targeted delivery of vitamin C and decitabine for KRAS/BRAF-mutated colorectal cancer treatment.

LIMR