Medicine MRes Research Projects

What’s available at Leeds?

Medical research plays an enormous role in improving patient care and outcomes. Through our course, you’ll develop your specialist skills and knowledge while also gaining the experience to feel equipped for a career in the field.

At Leeds, our MRes Medicine is an exciting and challenging course designed for those who want to advance their research skills and be immersed in a research project. 

Your nine-month project will help you to develop specialised knowledge, as well as design and undertake a substantial piece of publishable research. While studying with us, you’ll be based in one of our internationally-renowned institutes and be supervised by leading experts in their field. To help you specialise based on your interests, you can choose from a range of research opportunities from applied health, cancer and pathology, cardiovascular, genes and development, medical education and musculoskeletal topics. What’s more, it can be possible for our students to self-design a project if there is a University of Leeds researcher that they are particularly keen to collaborate with while at Leeds.

Here’s a view of the projects currently available at Leeds. Please note that this page will continue to be updated while more projects become available.

Supervisor

Email

Title

Institute

Research Passport/ DBS

Salvatore Papa

s.papa@leeds.ac.uk

The regulation of metabolism on drug response in cancer. 

LIMR

No

David Jayne

D.G.Jayne@leeds.ac.uk

Investigating Novel Interventions for Anastomotic Leak in Colorectal Surgery. 

LIMR

No

Sarah Kingsbury

s.r.kingsbury@leeds.ac.uk

Using a marker of systemic inflammation to identify a treatable population with osteoarthritis pain.

LIRMM

No

Rory O'connor

medrjo@leeds.ac.uk

Improving Patients’ Outcomes through Augmented Reality Rehabilitation.

LIRMM

Yes

Kate Marks

k.m.marks@leeds.ac.uk

Identifying the links between inflammation and mutations in colorectal cancer development utilising artificial intelligence algorithms. 

LIMR

No

Dr. Julia Sandrin Gauer
Prof. Robert Ariens

J.SandrinGauer@leeds.ac.uk

Investigating the role of platelet receptor GPVI on neutrophil-platelet binding and thrombo-inflammation in hyperglycemia.

LICAMM

No

Suparna Mitra

s.mitra@leeds.ac.uk 

Using shotgun metagenomic profiling to gain functional insights about the prebiotic effects of omega-3 fatty acids. 

LIMR

No

Suparna Mitra

s.mitra@leeds.ac.uk 

Metagenomic evaluation of the genes contributing to antibiotic resistance in human colonizing bacteria in healthy human. 

LIMR

No

Suparna Mitra

s.mitra@leeds.ac.uk 

Meta analyses of metagenomic projects in Colorectal Cancer.

LIMR

No

Manir Ali

m.ali@leeds.ac.uk

Characterisation of Myocilin variants identified in patients diagnosed with Glaucoma to assess their functional significance.

LIMR

No

Rebecca Spencer

r.n.spencer@leeds.ac.uk

Extracellular vesicles (EVs) as biomarkers of outcome in pregnancies complicated by early-onset fetal growth restriction (FGR). 

LIMR

No

Jax Bond

j.bond@leeds.ac.uk

Investigating NuMA knockdown as a therapy for breast cancer. 

LIMR

No

Anthony Redmond

a.redmond@leeds.ac.uk

The effect of femoral offset on function in total hip replacement patients.

LIRMM

No

Jack Helliwell

J.A.Helliwell@leeds.ac.uk

Targeting the microbiome to prevent anastomotic leak after rectal cancer surgery.

LIMR

Yes

Sikha Saha

S.Saha@leeds.ac.uk

Biosensing and bioimaging of stroke biomarker using novel Upconversion nanoparticles (UPNPs).

LICAMM

No

Alexios Dosis

a.dosis@leeds.ac.uk

Novel strategies to predict patient outcomes from major abdominal surgery.

LIMR

No

Michael McDermott

M.McDermott@leeds.ac.uk

Itaconate levels and regulatory T cell numbers, in the blood of patients with rheumatoid arthritis, as biomarkers of response to treatment with disease-modifying antirheumatic drugs.

LIRMM

No

Georgia Mavria

g.mavria@leeds.ac.uk

Understanding the role of the tumour microenvironment in the therapeutic resistance and recurrence of Glioblastoma.

LIMR

No

Daniel Peckham

D.G.Peckham@leeds.ac.uk

Assessing the impact of CFTR modulators on inflammation and metabolism in monocytes isolated from children with cystic fibrosis.

LIMR

No

Ryckie Wade

medrgwa@leeds.ac.uk

Does the delay from diagnosis to sentinel lymph node biopsy affect the risk of metastatic melanoma.

LIMR

No

Ryckie Wade

medrgwa@leeds.ac.uk

The Relationship Between Upper Limb Function and Diffusion Tensor Imaging Metrics of the Median, Radial and Ulnar Nerves.

LIMR

No

Zhan Yuin Ong

z.y.ong@leeds.ac.uk

Nanoparticle-based therapeutics to combat multidrug resistance and biofilms in chronic wound infections.

School of Medicine

No

Chris Parrish

christopherparrish@nhs.net

Biophysical technology for personalisation of cancer care.

FBS

Yes