Medicine MRes Research Projects

What’s available at Leeds?

Medical research plays an enormous role in improving patient care and outcomes. Through our course, you’ll develop your specialist skills and knowledge while also gaining the experience to feel equipped for a career in the field.

At Leeds, our MRes Medicine is an exciting and challenging course designed for those who want to advance their research skills and be immersed in a research project. 

Your nine-month project will help you to develop specialised knowledge, as well as design and undertake a substantial piece of publishable research. While studying with us, you’ll be based in one of our internationally-renowned institutes and be supervised by leading experts in their field. To help you specialise based on your interests, you can choose from a range of research opportunities from applied health, cancer and pathology, cardiovascular, genes and development, medical education and musculoskeletal topics. What’s more, it can be possible for our students to self-design a project if there is a University of Leeds researcher that they are particularly keen to collaborate with while at Leeds.

Here’s a view of the projects currently available at Leeds. Please note that this page will continue to be updated while more projects become available.

Dr Ana Tiganescu

A.Tiganescu@leeds.ac.uk  

Investigating the interplay between 11β-HSD1, hypoxia and wound healing in db/db mice

LICAMM  

Dr Ana Tiganescu

A.Tiganescu@leeds.ac.uk  

Regulation of the human skin microbiome by  11β-HSD1   

LICAMM and Hull York Medical School

Dr Andrew Walker, Dr Richard Cubbon

a.m.n.walker@leeds.ac.uk

Exploring the role of Insulin and IGF-1 Receptor Signalling in Vascular Aging

LICAMM 

Dr Frederique Ponchel

F.Ponchel@leeds.ac.uk

Lymphocyte subset analysis in Rheumatoid arthritis patients treated with anti-TNF versus methotrexate

LIRMM

Dr Heiko Wurdak, Dr Ryan Mathew, Dr Robin Bon 

h.wurdak@leeds.ac.uk, r.k.mathew@leeds.ac.uk

Cell State Transitions in Assembloids Determine Glioblastoma Progression and Treatment Response

LIMR

Dr Jacquelyn Bond

j.bond@leeds.ac.uk

Investigating NuMA knockdown as a therapy for breast cancer  

LIMR

Dr Karen Forbes

k.a.forbes@leeds.ac.uk

Defining the mechanisms underlying the adverse impact of in-utero metformin exposure to placental and fetal development 

LICAMM

Dr Karen Forbes, Abigail Byford

k.a.forbes@leeds.ac.uk

Isolation and characterisation of human placental macrophages (Hofbauer) cells from pregnancies complicated by maternal diabetes and altered fetal growth

LICAMM

Dr Karen Forbes, Dr Rachel Quilang

k.a.forbes@leeds.ac.uk

Modulating placental miRNAs to improve placental function in pregnancies complicated by maternal diabetes 

LICAMM

Dr Kate Absolom, Dr Amy Downing, Dr John Taylor

K.L.Absolom@leeds.ac.uk

How does a bowel cancer diagnosis impact the health and quality of life of people living in Yorkshire and Humber? Exploring patient reported outcomes from The Yorkshire Cancer Research Bowel Cancer Improvement Programme (YCR BCIP)

LIMR

Dr Lee D Roberts, Dr Nicole Watt

L.D.Roberts@leeds.ac.uk

Do molecular messengers from exercising muscle prevent cerebral vascular dysfunction in obesity - linking metabolic disease to vascular dementia?

LICAMM

Dr Manoj Sivan

M.Sivan@leeds.ac.uk

HEART rate variability biofeedback in Long COVID (HEARTLOC) 

LIRMM

Dr Niamh Forde

N.Forde@leeds.ac.uk

Understanding the role of non-coding RNAs in implantation failure

 

Dr Niamh Forde

N.Forde@leeds.ac.uk

Understanding the contribution of obesity associated metabolic stressors to implantation failure in humans

 

Dr Niamh Forde

N.Forde@leeds.ac.uk

Optimising 3D approaches to generate in vitro models to understand pregnancy loss

 

Dr Nick West, Dr Alice Westwood

n.p.west@leeds.ac.uk

Tumour immunology and response to radiotherapy in rectal cancer

LIMR

Dr Rebecca Spencer

r.n.spencer@leeds.ac.uk

Predicting outcome in pregnancies where the fetus is small-for-gestational age

LICAMM

Dr Rebecca Spencer

r.n.spencer@leeds.ac.uk

Extracellular vesicles (EVs) as biomarkers of outcome in pregnancies complicated by early-onset fetal growth restriction (FGR)

LICAMM

Dr Salvatore Papa, Dr Alessio Lepore

s.papa@leeds.ac.uk

The regulation of metabolism on drug response to cancer

LIMR

Dr Suparna Mitra

s.mitra@leeds.ac.uk

Metagenomic evaluation of the genes contributing to antibiotic resistance in human colonizing bacteria in healthy human

LIMR

Dr Suparna Mitra

s.mitra@leeds.ac.uk

Using shotgun metagenomic profiling to gain functional insights about the prebiotic effects of omega-3 fatty acids

LIMR

Dr Vikas Kaura

v.kaura@leeds.ac.uk

Investigating the role of TRPC channels in Malignant Hyperthermia

LIMR

Dr Zhan Yuin Ong

Z.Y.Ong@leeds.ac.uk

Inherently Targeted Nanomedicines for Enhancing the Delivery of Hydrophobic Anticancer Drugs 

Molecular and Nanoscale Physics Labs

Dr Julia Sandrin Gauer, Prof. Robert Ariens

J.SandrinGauer@leeds.ac.uk

Investigating the role of platelet receptor GPVI on neutrophil-platelet binding and thrombo-inflammation in hyperglycemia

LICAMM

James Poulter, Sinisa Savic

J.A.Poulter@leeds.ac.uk

Identification and characterisation of somatic variants in auto-inflammatory disorders

LIMR

Lynn McKeown, Dr Laeticia Lichtenstein, Dr Bernadette Moore

l.mckeown@leeds.ac.uk

Investigating the molecular mechanisms underlying the contribution of a Rab46 genetic polymorphism to non-alcoholic fatty liver disease

LICAMM

Mr Yazan Khaled, Adel Samson, Mr Andrew Smith, Dr Ibrahim Knot

y.khaled@leeds.ac.uk

Developing a 3-D in vitro model of pancreatic cancer spheroids 

LIMR

Professor Sikha Saha

S.Saha@leeds.ac.uk

Rapid optical immunoassay development for stroke biomarkers using lanthanide-based nanoparticles (LDNPs)

LICAMM

Dr Lucy Stead L.F.Stead@leeds.ac.uk Investigating mechanisms of treatment resistance using an ex vivo model of glioblastoma LIMR