FMH and University Partnership Award Winners 2023

We are delighted to announce the winners of the 2023 Faculty of Medicine and Health and University Partnership Awards.

The Partnership Awards recognises the exceptional work of staff and students who worked together to put the Leeds Partnership into action.

Nearly 100 people in the Faculty of Medicine and Health were nominated in one or more of the award categories, demonstrating the fantastic work undertaken by colleagues from across the faculty during what has been a particularly challenging 12 months for students and staff alike.

Congratulations to our FMH Partnership Award winners. The awards recognise the hard work and dedication of our staff and students, and how we work better together to ensure the best experience for our community. A huge thank you for your efforts in making the Leeds Partnership a success in the faculty.

Dr Amanda Harrison, Pro Dean for Student Education

The 2023 winners of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Partnership Awards are:

Equality and Inclusion Award

The Equality and Inclusion Award encapsulates both the University of Leeds and Leeds University Union’s values. Grounded in the belief that every student, regardless of background, should feel like they belong within the Leeds community.

Nominations in this category will recognise the work of people working inclusively, either in their everyday work or through initiatives to create a sense of belonging.

  •  Valeria Vendries Quintero – School of Medicine

Mentor Award

Whether an SES staff member, academic, or a student, this person’s guidance and support has encouraged and nurtured others to develop their skills and prospects for the future, helping them to grow and progress, either personally or in their learning.

  • Kimberley Guy School of Healthcare

Wellbeing Award

The Wellbeing Award recognises the partnership working across schools and services at Leeds. Nominations should demonstrate how initiatives have involved students and provided dedication to their wellbeing.

  •  Dr Alison Rodriguez School of Healthcare

Student Academic Rep of the Year Award

This award recognises the student representative who worked in partnership with others to secure positive, student-led change that makes a real difference to students and staff.

  •  Alexandra Wilkinson School of Dentistry

Academic Personal Tutor/Supervisor Award

This award recognises the Academic Personal Tutor, dissertation, thesis or final year project supervisor who, through their passion and leadership, enables our students to push the boundaries to develop and explore new knowledge.

  •  Dr Samuel Smith School of Medicine

Innovation Award

This award seeks to celebrate the individual or group who uses innovative methods and approaches to engage and excite others or solve problems.

  •  The Baines Family Tree, Lisa Forbes Grant, Kate Phillips, Daniel Ward and Gabriel Jones School of Healthcare

Postgraduate Researcher Award

The award seeks to recognise the postgraduate researcher who has made a significant impact on our learning/research community or the wider world.

  •  Sophie Green School of Medicine

Global Award

The Global Award celebrates the members of our community who work with a global focus. It aims to recognise excellence amongst those who have actively engaged in the promotion and maintenance of international or intercultural activities, education, or competence.

  •  The Nuffield Centre for International Health and Development School of Medicine

Outstanding Student Award

This award recognises a student who has volunteered their time to enhance the learning experience of their peers.

  •  Bryony Brown School of Medicine

Feedback and Assessment Award

This category recognises the commitment to our students by the member of staff who has provided FMH students with an excellent experience in assessment and feedback.

  •  Dr Pam Birtill School of Psychology

Positive Contribution to Student Experience and Opportunities Award

This award recognises a person or group who, through the development of new and innovative methods, has made an exceptional difference to opportunities or experiences for Faculty of Medicine and Health students.

  •  Freedom to Speak Up Guardians: Farhana Mulla and Robina Mir

Inspirational Teaching/Supervisor Award

This category recognises the individual or group who continually inspires students, using their passion and dedication for a subject area to inspire others to continually develop their thinking and academic skills.

  • Sean Strauther School of Medicine

School Community Partnership of the Year Award

This award celebrates the group whose work during the academic year has had a significant impact on the student experience, resulting in meaningful change.

  • SALIP Student Reps, Umair Afzal, Kirti Karavadra, Roderic Johnson, Alisha Hussain, Gaurav Bhardwaj School of Dentistr

University Partnership Awards

In addition to winning in the Faculty of Medicine and Health Partnership Awards, several of the winners were also shortlisted for the University Partnership Awards, with the following winning in their individual categories, representing a fantastic night for the Faculty of Medicine and Health:

  • Innovation: Baines Family Tree – School of Healthcare
  • Mentor: Kimberley Guy – School of Healthcare
  • Outstanding Student Award: Bryony Brown – School of Medicine
  • Student Academic Rep of the Year: Alexandra Wilkinson – School of Dentistry

Read more about the winners of the Leeds Partnership Awards.

Congratulations to our winners and nominees for their efforts over the past year. It is a testament to our staff and students that they have been acknowledged and celebrated for their commitment to work together to support all aspects of our University community.