Excellent Longstanding Service to Undergraduate Clinical Education 2020

Leeds School of Medicine wishes to recognise NHS clinical teachers and other NHS staff who are due to retire, or have just retired and have a reputation for their commitment to teaching excellence and supporting our medical students over many years.

We invite Trusts and GP practices to nominate any members of staff they feel would merit this recognition for excellence and outstanding commitment over many years and would appreciate being put forward. This need not be confined to consultants, it might, for example, be a member of the nursing staff who has consistently contributed outstanding teaching and/or support to medical students throughout their career, or an undergraduate student organiser who has given long praiseworthy service to students.

Winners of the award will receive a certificate signed by the Dean of Medicine and a citation. Winners’ names will be recorded on the website.

This is a very prestigious award which will not be given without serious scrutiny of the nominees’ level of contribution. Please give sufficient detail on your reasons and provide the required evidence for your nominations to allow us to give them due consideration. You are invited to discuss your suggestions informally beforehand with Professor Laura Stroud.

Click here to download a flyer and details of last year’s winners.

A completed nomination form should be sent with a covering letter of support, any testimonials from colleagues, and evidence of excellent clinical teaching and/or support to Dr Cait Dennis.

Please ensure you receive confirmation that your nomination has been received. The deadline for submission of nominations is 31 July 2020

If you have any queries regarding eligibility, please contact: Dr Cait Dennis