MRes Projects list

#

Project title

Superivsor(s)

Main supervisor
email

Institute

1

Investigating the molecular basis of keratoconus in families using next generation sequencing.

Dr Manir Ali

medma@leeds.ac.uk

 

LIMR

2

Hypoxia driven vascular smooth muscle cell proliferation as a driver of Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm

Mr Marc Bailey

m.a.bailey@leeds.ac.uk

LICAMM

3

The association between comorbidity and the development of acute kidney injury during the management of colorectal cancer

Dr Rebecca Birch

r.j.birch@leeds.ac.uk

LICAMM

4

Timing of pulmonary valve replacement in tetralogy of Fallot using cardiac magnetic resonance imaging – overcoming the impact of the obesity epidemic

Dr Malenka Bissell

m.m.bissell@leeds.ac.uk

LICAMM

5

Vagus nerve stimulation to reduce ileus after colorectal surgery

Mr Stephen Chapman
Prof David Jayne

s.chapman@leeds.ac.uk

LIMR

6

Imaging mechanosensory proteins in the brain by light sheet microscopy

Dr Eulashini
Chuntharpursat-Bon

medechu@leeds.ac.uk

LICAMM

7

Defining the effects of bone-marrow ischaemia on innate immune training.

Dr Richard Cubbon
Lauren Eades

R.Cubbon@leeds.ac.uk
umle@leeds.ac.uk

LICAMM

8

Does rhythmic glucocorticoid release effect the clinical efficacy of oncolytic virus therapy?

Dr Fiona Errington-Mais
Dr Laura Matthews

f.errington@leeds.ac.uk

LIMR

9

Exploring the interaction between adipocytes, placental development and fetal growth in pregnancies complicated by maternal diabetes and obesity

Dr Karen Forbes

k.a.forbes@leeds.ac.uk

LICAMM

10

Establishing the impact of metformin treatment on placental development and fetal growth in pregnancies complicated by maternal diabetes

Dr Karen Forbes

k.a.forbes@leeds.ac.uk

LICAMM

11

Exploring the impact of maternal extracellular vesicles on placental vascular development in pregnancies complicated by maternal diabetes

Dr Karen Forbes

k.a.forbes@leeds.ac.uk

LICAMM

12

Dietary-derived extracellular vesicles and miRNAs: novel regulators of placental and fetal growth?

Dr Karen Forbes

k.a.forbes@leeds.ac.uk

LICAMM

13

Understanding the contribution of obesity
associated metabolic stressors to endometrial Cancer
 progression

Dr Niamh Forde
Prof John Ladbury

N.Forde@leeds.ac.uk

LICAMM

14

Understanding the contribution of obesity associated
metabolic stressors to implantation failure in humans

Dr Niamh Forde

N.Forde@leeds.ac.uk

LICAMM

15

Optimising 3D bioprinting to generate in vitro models
 to understand pregnancy loss

Dr Niamh Forde

N.Forde@leeds.ac.uk

LICAMM

16

Use of light sheet microscopy to investigate the interplay between giant cell arteritis (GCA) and diabetes mellitus (DM)

Dr Kathryn Griffin
Professor Ann Morgan
Dr Sarah Mackie

k.j.griffin@leeds.ac.uk

LICAMM
LIRMM

17

Causing cancer by stealth: unmasking low-level endogenous hepatitis C virus within liver cancers.

Dr Stephen Griffin

Dr Adel Samson

s.d.c.griffin@leeds.ac.uk

LIMR

18

Glucocorticoid use in the treatment of giant cell arteritis 

Dr Charlotte Harden

c.j.harden@leeds.ac.uk

LICAMM

19

Assessing Photodynamic Therapy in different in vitro models of colorectal cancer

Prof David Jayne
Mr Mohammed Ibrahim Khot

D.G.Jayne@leeds.ac.uk

LIMR

20

Metabolomic and Lipidomic Characterisation of Metabolic
Dysfunction in Patients with Chronic Heart Failure and Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus

Dr Lee Roberts
Dr Klaus Witte
Dr Scott Bowen

l.d.roberts@leeds.ac.uk

LICAMM

21

The role of lipid accumulation in muscle on Type 2 diabetes

Dr Lee Roberts

L.D.Roberts@leeds.ac.uk

LICAMM

22

Why is small intestinal cancer so much rarer than colorectal cancer?

Dr Kate Marks

k.m.marks@leeds.ac.uk

LIMR

23

Early Detection of Brain Tumours Using Neurolinguistic Pattern Matching and Behavioural AI

Prof Ryan Mathew

r.k.mathew@leeds.ac.uk

LIMR

24

Does exposure to the sun change your susceptibility to mosquito-borne virus infection?

Dr Clive McKimmie

c.s.mckimmie@leeds.ac.uk

LIMR

25

Platelet-monocyte crosstalk drives immunothrombosis in diabetes

Professor Khalid Naseem
Professor Ramzi Ajjan

k.naseem@leeds.ac.uk

LICAMM

26

Nanoparticle mediated delivery of novel antimicrobial agents

Dr Zhan Yuin Ong

z.y.ong@leeds.ac.uk

Physics &

Astronomy

27

Targeting cellular metabolism to improve cancer therapeutics

Dr Salvatore Papa

s.papa@leeds.ac.uk

LIMR

28

Optimising Heart Failure and Device Therapy in a Combined Clinic

Dr Maria Paton

M.Paton@Leeds.ac.uk

LGI

29

‘Big data’ prediction of outcomes in pancreatic cancer

Mr Tom Pike

t.pike@leeds.ac.uk

LIMR

30

Human leukocyte migration in vitro as a predictor of therapeutic response with PDE4 inhibitor apremilast in psoriasis.

Dr Kave Shams

k.shams@leeds.ac.uk

LIRMM

31

Home-based Brainwave Entrainment Technology (hBET) for management of chronic pain and sleep disturbance. A feasibility study

Dr Manoj Sivan
Dr Stephen Halpin

M.Sivan@leeds.ac.uk

LTHT

32

Telerehabilitation to improve the quality of life of individuals with long term disabilities in Nepal

Dr Manoj Sivan
Prof Rory O'Connor

M.Sivan@leeds.ac.uk

LTHT
LIMR

33

Understanding mechanisms driving chemoradioresistance and recurrence of brain cancer

Dr Lucy Stead
Dr Laura Matthews

l.f.stead@leeds.ac.uk

 

34

Irregular shear stress to ROS induced atherosclerosis- do the novel mechanosensors play any role?

Dr Piruthivi Sukumar

p.sukumar@leeds.ac.uk

LICAMM

35

Probing cardiac microstructure with advanced diffusion MRI

Dr Irvin The

i.teh@leeds.ac.uk

LICAMM

36

Volumetric imaging of the cervical nerve root canal using MRI in patients with cervical radiculopathy

Mr Simon Thomson

Simon.thomson1@nhs.net

LGI

37

Imaging Spinal Cord Syringomyelia with Cine MRI

Mr Simon Thomson

Simon.thomson1@nhs.net

LGI

38

Network Meta-Analysis in Vascular Surgery

Mr Mohammed Abdul Waduud
Dr Ryckie Wade
Dr Nick Burr

m.a.waduud@leeds.ac.uk

LGI

39

Distinguishing between infection and inflammation in psoriasis: the surface is not the whole story.

Dr Miriam Wittmann

M.Wittmann@leeds.ac.uk

LIRMM

40

Bioinformatic analysis of the oral cancer microbiome

Dr Henry Wood
Mr Anastasios Kanatas
Dr Preetha Chengot

h.m.wood@leeds.ac.uk

LIMR

41

Investigating the colorectal cancer-associated microbiome

Dr Caroline Young
Prof Phil Quirke

c.young@leeds.ac.uk

LIMR